Bad Movie Logo
"A website to the detriment of good film"
Custom Search
HOMEB-MOVIE REVIEWSREADER REVIEWSFORUMINTERVIEWSUPDATESABOUT
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 28, 2024, 01:59:05 PM
713353 Posts in 53057 Topics by 7725 Members
Latest Member: wibwao
Badmovies.org Forum  |  Other Topics  |  Off Topic Discussion  |  Where are the Jobs? « previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Where are the Jobs?  (Read 4469 times)
Mortal Envelope
Bad Movie Lover

Manos...it's frightening!

« on: November 23, 2007, 03:45:12 PM »

I'm not sure if this issue is definitely regional-specific, but my particular State is having some issues with a lack of decent jobs.  Many of my peers (including myself) are having a difficult time obtaining a job worth having...to the point where leaving might be the only option. 

I myself am having a difficult time finding work in my trade (and I have 10+ years experience) ...simply because there's so much competition for the very few jobs that are left.  I'm not too worried about myself really as I am getting calls and sometimes an interview, but it seems I'm going to have to take a cut in pay (again).  It just keeps going down...and for a college-educated person with a decade of experience and student loans, that just doesn't make me feel all that great.  Although I have confidence I will land the right job soon but I feel bad for others who aren't as lucky as I am.

I feel worse for some of my friends and family; a whole group of guys I know are now unemployed since their job up and left for Mexico's cheap labor and lax safety regulations.  And their company isn't the only one.  Everywhere else seems to be laying off, having a hiring and/or wage freeze, or worse, the places are shutting down completely.