Bad Movie Logo
"A website to the detriment of good film"
Custom Search
HOMEB-MOVIE REVIEWSREADER REVIEWSFORUMINTERVIEWSUPDATESABOUT
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2024, 07:42:17 PM
714321 Posts in 53092 Topics by 7741 Members
Latest Member: SashaHilly
Badmovies.org Forum  |  Other Topics  |  Off Topic Discussion  |  I need some advice/help « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: I need some advice/help  (Read 6963 times)
BTM
Frightening Fanatic of Horrible Cinema

« on: December 04, 2008, 02:55:45 PM »

Okay, lots of things in my life aren't going so great, but for this post, I'm gonna to focus on one thing in particular: my career.  I'm having a REAL difficult time getting it started.  I graduated back in August of 2007 with a Bachelor of Science in Information Systems Technology.  Basically, it's kind of a "catch all" for various computer related fields, involving stuff like web design, tech support, database management, web security, even assembling computers.  The degree (at least where I went) dipped into each of those areas just enough to get your feet slightly damp. 

For my internship I did a website for the local chapter of Habitat for Humanity and started some website for other non-profit charity groups.  It was an good internship, but it didn't really give me much in the way of practical experience in the IT world or networking connections I'd need for another job.

It's been over a year since I graduated, since then I'm now working at a 32 hour minimum wage job in a hotel which, frankly, I didn't need a degree for, and barely getting by (despite living in public housing with cheap rent).  I've applied for several jobs through online sources, but it seems like everywhere I turn they want way more experience than what I have.