Bad Movie Logo
"A website to the detriment of good film"
Custom Search
HOMEB-MOVIE REVIEWSREADER REVIEWSFORUMINTERVIEWSUPDATESABOUT
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2024, 03:53:36 PM
714241 Posts in 53092 Topics by 7736 Members
Latest Member: ShayneGree
Badmovies.org Forum  |  Movies  |  Bad Movies  |  When do you think nudity and foul language is OK? « previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: When do you think nudity and foul language is OK?  (Read 3096 times)
Jamtoy
Dedicated Viewer

« on: November 25, 2003, 07:28:25 PM »

The post a short while ago about Americans being "afraid" of nudity got me to thinking about when I personally feel nudity and cursing would be acceptible in a movie.   Being a Seminary student, I have always had a distaste for those "nude scenes cause if we don't have them no one will come to see our movie" scenes.  However, I find, in my own personal life, that nudity may be needed to tell certain aspects of a story.  For example, if someone were to make a "realistic" movie set in the Aegean and Archaic Greek periods, 3500 BC-2200 BC, it would have nudity most of the time because the acceptable dress for women had their breasts exposed.  An ancient Egyptian setting would have a similar situation.  Some of the scenes from "Sheindlers List" fit this catagory.  However the sex scenes I felt could be left out but they did emphasize the type of character he was and how he changed at the end.

As far a curse word go, I find I have a similar view.  Some movies they seem to be just thrown in to get a rated R rating, others they make a point.