Bad Movie Logo
"A website to the detriment of good film"
Custom Search
HOMEB-MOVIE REVIEWSREADER REVIEWSFORUMINTERVIEWSUPDATESABOUT
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 28, 2024, 06:33:40 PM
714493 Posts in 53097 Topics by 7744 Members
Latest Member: MichelFran
Badmovies.org Forum  |  Movies  |  Bad Movies  |  Cemetary Man « previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Cemetary Man  (Read 1133 times)
Rob Phillips
« on: May 19, 2003, 01:34:06 PM »

Sorry if this is old hack here, but I'm new to list.

On rewatching Cemetary man I was struck by the fact that the entire movie was from the opening credits to the very end a philisophical statment. I can't decide whether to classify that statement as Existentialist or Nihilist.

Any ideas folks?

Rob Phillips

The Burgomaster
Aggravating People Worldwide Since 1964
Frightening Fanatic of Horrible Cinema

« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2003, 02:31:29 PM »

I think it had something to do with the main character's atavistic angst. Or perhaps it was the cosmic duality of man. Or maybe it was the id versus the ego. On the other hand, many believe that it was symbolic of man's struggle against nature. Others think that it is a parable about man's search for God. No matter how you slice it, mush of it can be compared to the writings of Plato.

"Do not walk behind me, for I may not lead. Do not walk ahead of me, for I may not follow. Do not walk beside me either. Just pretty much leave me the hell alone."
Andrew
Administrator
Frightening Fanatic of Horrible Cinema

I know where my towel is.

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2003, 04:31:51 AM »

Actually, I have always looked on it as this:

"The whole world does not make sense and nothing you do matters beyond your small sphere of influence."

The ending was out of left field and plain weird.  The movie has a sort of ryhme to it, but the ending does not fit according to it.

Andrew Borntreger
Badmovies.org
spikesangel
Dedicated Viewer